Rabu, 25 Februari 2009

History Arsenal

Before the First World War

[Arsenal in 1913]

Forerunners 'The Gunners' start to form when a group of workers at the Woolwich Arsenal Armament Factory decided to form a football club at the end of 1886. At that time the club played under the name 'Dial Square'. Their first game was the 6-0 victory over Eastern Wanderers on December 11, 1886. Then they changed the name to Royal Arsenal and started playing in a friendly and local competition for the next few years.

In 1891 the Royal Arsenal turned professional status and changed its name to Woolwich Arsenal. In the year 1893 they finally joined the FL (Football League). This team moved to Highbury in 1913 and was a member of the second division. Along with World War I, they were selected to join the first division competition begins to squirm, the division where they dwelt until now.

Chapman and the Glory '30

Herbert Chapman took over Arsenal in 1925, and in 1930 he led for the first time Gunners won the FA cup with victory over Huddersfield Town in the final. The following season, in 1931, Arsenal make history with division win one. They even won a single division 3 times in a row, ie 1933, 1934 and 1935. Achievements that can only be achieved by the top 4 English clubs. But then came the sad news, Chapman died, he died after reaching the status of 'legend'.

George Allison took over power and continue for the rest of the decade 30'an win another FA Cup (1936) and division one (1938). Until then only Arsenal have had some legendary players. Alex James, Ted Drake, Cliff Bastin, David Jack, Eddie Hapgood and George Male was only part of the name of the legendary players who played in the Football League.
World War II

The second World War Arsenal inhibit the normal and compete effectively, but after Tom Whittaker became manager, success started to come again. The Gunnders is division one champions 1947/48 and 1952/53; FA Cup winners in 1950 and runners-up in 1952. Arsenal 60'an era accomplishments dimmed in the local competition, during the decade that they only reached 2 times League Cup final in 1968 and 1969. After Bertie Mee took over in mid 60'an, for the first time they won one European trophy competition between clubs, Fairs Cup, the 1969/70 season by beating Anderlecht in the final with a 4-3 aggregate.

Arsenal had started to improve in the decade 70'an with players like Charlie George, George Armstrong, Ray Kennedy and captain Frank McLintock, won the league and FA cup together. They ensure the league title at White Hart Lane, Tottenham Hotspurs cage mortal enemy and then reaching the FA cup in the final with a victory over Liverpool after extra time.

At the end of their 70'an reached 3 times the FA cup final tickets and won two of them. In 1980 they also won Cup Winners Cup final but the Arsenal team that reinforced Graham Rix, Frank Stapleton, Pat Rice, David O'Leary and Liam Brady was defeated the Spanish club, Valencia.

George Graham era

George Graham is a member of the Arsenal team that won the 1971 doubles title, he took over the club manager from Don Howe and then bring back kejayaaan for Arsenal. He led for the first time Arsenal won the league trophy in 1986/1987. Two years later, in 1989, Arsenal won the league title again with Michael Thomas scored a sensational last in the league party. And 1990/1991 they won the league championship with a convincing, losing only 1 times the entire game.

In 1995 they won the trophy with a bow vice Winners Italy, Parma, in the final which was played in Copenhagen, with Alan Smith goal. The next season they entered the final again but lost to Real Zaragoza. At that time George Graham had been replaced by Bruce Rioch. Although Rioch only lasted one season, he had brought Dennis Bergkamp to Arsenal.

Arsène Wenger Era

In 1997/98, Wenger is the first season at Highbury, Snatch armory doubles title, Premier champions and the FA cup champions, the second time in club history. Wenger won the title of best manager, Carling Manager of Year Award. Dennis Bergkamp was also chosen as the best player that year by soccer journalists association, FWA, and the title of the best players from the players association, PFA. A remarkable season with a perfect resolved. Reinforced by the French star player, Emmanuel Petit and Patrick Vieira.

Arsenal 3 next year was runner-up league, in 2000 they won the UEFA cup final and lost on penalties. 2001/2002 season, they've won the Premier League again. But the 2003/2004 season was the most sensational when they won the Premiership without a single defeat. The difference with Chelsea, the runners-up, is 11 points.

Read More..